Comic Browser:


Fear Itself: The Deep #4: Review

Sep 2011
Cullen Bunn, Lee Garbett

Story Name:

(No title given)

Review & Comments

4.5 stars

Fear Itself: The Deep #4 Review by (May 17, 2022)

Review: See issue #1 for full review.

Comments: This limited series takes place between FEAR ITSELF #4 and 5. Guest Defenders include Hellcat, Son of Satan, Moon Knight, Cloak and Dagger, Stingray, Gargoyle, Black Panther, Devil-Slayer, Cloud, and Blazing Skull. John Lucas and Rick Magyar contributed to the inking. Issue includes a reprint of “Moment of Silence” from 2002 to commemorate the tenth anniversary of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks.


Synopsis / Summary / Plot

Fear Itself: The Deep #4 Synopsis by Peter Silvestro

On the East Coast of the USA, Attuma, now Nerkkod, Breaker of Oceans, has assembled his army to conquer the surface world when he is confronted by the new Defenders (Namor, Doctor Strange, Loa, Lyra the Savage She-Hulk, Silver Surfer). Namor calls on him to surrender and Attuma responds by opening gushers on the land and ordering his men to attack. Lyra and Loa do a fastball special which allows Loa to use her powers to destroy a giant war machine. (“Eat your heart out, Wolverine!”) But while Attuma wields the hammer he is unbeatable. Reinforcements arrive: (almost) every past member of any Defenders team summoned by Dr. Strange. For some added advantage, Strange casts a spell blacking out the enemies’ glass helmets. Namor, his fears having dissipated, attacks Attuma with everything he’s got, separating him from his hammer. Loa burns off the villain’s right hand to keep him from recovering it while the others thump on him. Attuma throws them off and summons the hammer to him which restores his missing hand; he then conjures up a waterspout and vanishes….

Namor thanks his allies for their aid but Strange knows that there is more to be done if the whole world is to be saved….

Lee Garbett
David Meikis
John Rauch
Lee Garbett (Cover Penciler)
David Meikis (Cover Inker)
Frank Martin (Cover Colorist)
Letterer: Joe Caramagna.


Listed in Alphabetical Order.

Doctor Strange
Doctor Strange

(Stephen Strange)

(Savage She-Hulk)

Plus: Defenders, Loa (Alani Ryan).

> Fear Itself: The Deep: Book info and issue index

Share This Page